To Believe


Sit back, watch, listen and reflect. And I can promise you this… this video will mesmerize you, just as I was mesmerized when I was watching it. If you close your eyes and listen to the voice, you will find it hard to believe that this is a small child singing. Singing a prayer of hope, a prayer for the poor, a prayer for the homeless, a prayer for those in despair.

Not being from the United States, and not being much of a TV buff, I had never heard of Jackie Evancho before, till the link to this video was shared by a friend on Facebook. After watching the video I did some googling and learned that she was a child prodigy, a star in her own right. All of 13 years old (I believe she was even younger when she sang this one), she is a rage on YouTube and this video has crossed 4 million views. I also googled for the lyrics of this wonderful prayer which I am sharing below.

Watch, and pray with her. Because this prayer is for the countless millions of under-privileged across the world.

Before I lay me down to rest
I ask the Lord one small request
I know I have all I could need
But this prayer is not for me
Too many people on this day
Don’t have a peaceful place to stay
Let all fighting cease that your children may see peace
Wipe their tears of sorrow away

To believe in a day
When hunger and war will pass away
To have the hope amidst despair
That every sparrow’s counted
That you hear each cry and listen to each prayer

Let me try always to believe
That we can hear the hearts that grieve
Please help us not ignore
The anguished cries of the poor
Or their pain will never leave

To believe in a day
When hunger and war will pass away
To have the hope amidst despair
That every sparrow’s counted
That you hear their cries and listen to each prayer

Father, as you see, I’m just a child
And there’s so much to understand
But if Your Grace should surround me
Then I’ll do the best I can
I promise, I’ll do the very best I can

To believe in a day
When hunger and war will pass away
To have the hope amidst despair
That every sparrow’s counted
That you hear each cry and listen to each
Prayer {Hear each cry and listen to each prayer}
Help us do Your will oh Father
In the name of all that’s true
And we’ll see in one another
The loving image of You

Leave a Reply

